IAS Leadership

Senior Advisors

Stephen B. Hanauer, MD

Clifford Joseph Barborka Professor of Medicine
Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine
Medical Director, Digestive Health Center

Joel M. Gelfand, MD, MSCE

Professor of Dermatology and Epidemiology
Vice Chair of Clinical Research
Director, Psoriasis and Phototherapy Treatment Center
University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine

Leonard H. Calabrese, DO

Professor of Medicine
Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine
Case Western Reserve University
RJ Fasenmyer Chair of Clinical Immunology
Theodore F. Classen, DO Chair of Osteopathic Research and Medical Education
Vice Chairman, Department of Rheumatic and Immunologic Diseases


Adam S. Cheifetz, MD

Director, Center for Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
Associate Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School

Joseph F. Merola, MD, MMSc

Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School 
Director, Clinical Unit for Research Innovation and Trials (CUReIT), Dermatology
Director, Center for Skin and Related Musculoskeletal Diseases
Dept of Dermatology and Dept of Medicine, Division of Rheumatology 
Associate Program Director, Combined Medicine-Dermatology Residency Program 
Brigham and Women's Hospital

Mital Patel, MD

Director, Hidradenitis Suppurativa and Neutrophilic Dermatosis Clinic
Assistant Program Director, Dermatology and Rheumatology Fellowship
Instructor in Dermatology, Harvard Medical School
Associate Physician, Department of Dermatology
Brigham and Women’s Hospital